Dot Logo U.S. Department of Transportation
Office of the Secretary of Transportation
1200 New Jersey Ave., S.E.
Washington, DC 20590

Grant Advance Notice

Date: 01/08/2014

NOTICE TO CONGRESS OF DOT DISCRETIONARY GRANT AWARDS: This notification is provided to the Committee pursuant to one of the following requirements governing the public announcement of a Department of Transportation discretionary grant, letter of intent, or Federal Transit Administration full funding grant agreement:

      (1) Currently applicable General Provision of the Appropriations Act or Continuing Resolution governing Department of Transportation appropriations, containing a prohibition on the use of funds made available unless the Secretary notifies the House and Senate Committees on Appropriation not less than three full business days before any discretionary grant award, letter of intent, or full funding grant agreement totaling $1,000,000 or more is announced by the Department or its modal administrations (A) any discretionary grant program of the Federal Highway Administration including the emergency relief program; (B) the Airport Improvement Program of the Federal Aviation Administration; (C) any grant from the Federal Railroad Administration; or (D) and program of the Federal Transit Administration other than formula grants and fixed guideway modernization programs.

     (2) Section 159(b) of the Wendell H. Ford Aviation Investment and Reform Act for the 21st Century (AIR-21).

     (3) Section 5334(k) of title 49, United States Code.


Title: ER: CO13-1, September 11, 2013 Flooding
Grant Amount: $ 110,000,000.00
Title 23, U.S.C., Section 125, authorizes an Emergency Relief (ER) program within the U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Highway Administration, for the repair or reconstruction of Federal-aid highways and roads on Federal lands that have suffered serious damage as a result of natural disasters or catastrophic failures from an external cause. These funds are awarded to a State after the President or the Governor issues a formal emergency declaration and the State files a request for ER for the cost of damages to its eligible highways. Eligible repair work includes emergency repairs needed to restore essential traffic, minimize the extent of damage, or protect the remaining facilities as well as permanent repairs necessary to restore the highway to its pre-disaster condition.

Congressional members affected:

Diana DeGette
Douglas Lamborn
Scott Tipton
Ken Buck
Edwin Perlmutter
Mike Coffman
Jared Polis

Senators affected:

Cory Gardner
Michael Bennet
Should you have any questions, please contact the Office of Governmental Affairs (202)366-4573.